Press office

To contact the Press Office::
Telephone: +39 0789 34145

Journalists accreditation


Porto Rotondo, 26th August 2017 - Great success for the second deep-sea fishing race of the season!

The team led by Giuseppe Gattorna won the 2017 edition of the Porto Rotondo International Fishing Cup held on Wednesday, August 23rd.

The race was organized by the Yacht Club Porto Rotondo, in collaboration with the International Sportfishing Association, by Francesco Perretta.

To accept the challenge about ten teams, aboard as many beautiful boats, which for the whole day of Wednesday were challenged in a race field extended for about 25 miles offshore, along the route that goes from the Monks to Punta Ottiolu.

The fishing marathon lasted from the first light of dawn until dusk, on a hot and poorly ventilated day. After the intense north-east wind and the strong swell that had characterized the previous days, the sea has fortunately granted a moment of respite for the running of the race.

The beautiful day of August allowed the crews to go offshore in search of the most coveted prey of the high ground, such as tuna, swords and imperial giblets. Skill and luck favored the Ligurian boat "Creuza de Ma", captained by Giuseppe Gattorna. In fact, during the early afternoon his crew scored two strikes, bringing home two beautiful imperial needles of about 11 kilos each, which earned him the victory to the detriment of the team of Alessandro Iazzetti, the boat "Joker"Beaten by only a few points of difference. Third Classified "Relax" by Filippo Simoni, who gained the third step of the podium with the capture and release of two beautiful tuna.

During the award ceremony the crew of "Snap II" was applauded for a long time, captained by Riccardo Masciotta, who received the prize for the youngest crew ('95,'96,'99).

The coveted Social Fishing Trophy of the Yacht Club Porto Rotondo went to Joker of Alessandro Iazzetti and Cesara Loria, with them also Alessandro Molinari and the young Jacopo Sandonà.

Below, the final ranking:

I place - Creuza de Ma by Giuseppe Gattorna;

II place - Joker by Alessandro Iazzetti;

III place - Relax. Filippo Simoni.

Photo gallery